David Braben of Frontier @ E3: "No Mods" (PCGamer)

1) Mod support doesn’t really make it harder to update and support the game, that’s a copout reason… When you update a game, its up to the modders to upkeep their mods

2) their reasoning about they can’t update the game because it would trash the mods is a weak argument… Every game out there that has plenty of mods have updates and the developers really don’t care if it breaks the mods

Even without mod support, players are going to MOD the game… The anti-tamper part of the game only protects the executable file… Even the devs of said so themselves when someone asked them on the steam forums about modding the game anyway. The data files of the game can be completely changed if somebody knows what they’re doing..and people are already doing it

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think a game has to have mod support, But at least give more believable answers than in that article

I’ve been coding video game since 1986… I can tell when someone is giving a weak answer

Saw this and though people in the JWE forum might like to see it as I can't see it linked here:

"Frontier elaborates on why Jurassic World Evolution doesn't have mod support"

http://www.pcgamer.com/frontier-und...ic-world-evolution-mods-but-theres-a-balance/

thx.

I mean, I suppose I can see it their way, it is annoying to have mods broken by new patches. I suppose I don't really care enough to go either way, but generally I do prefer things being done by the developer. I know for Elite it can be a bit annoying messing with all the 3rd party stuff all the time, but it's simply difficult to not use them since they are generally very good and bring a lot of QoL to the game. Sometimes mods are good enough for me to want to check out, but I don't feel I'll really be missing out on them for JWE.

Last edited: