First time playing on PC and VR - Intel or AMD??

I'm a PS4 veteran (so much so I'm loath to transfer my assets and lose all those ranks and engineering mods), but I'm now in a position to buy a pretty mega PC and VR setup. There's a clear divide between intel and AMD, but AMD appears to be making waves right now.

That said, it's Elite Dangerous I am interested in first and foremost. What do I go for?

I'm a PS4 veteran
#METOO#

Well Stick with Intel and Nvidia..The rest don't matter
Ahem, not so fast, there's a slew of information on youtube about this after AMD's recent CPU updates, Intel does give higher frame rates on some games depending on monitor resolution, but AMD trashes Intel when it comes to desktop usage like rendering. In my experiance Intel needs top of the range cooling solutions for their K series chips when run overclocked, a deep freeze is the best solution or the north pole, I currently run a 7700K and I had to spend a small fortune to get the thing to run cool, infact I run the pc with the case side panel removed to assist with cooling.

GPU:
In Elite VR (my GPU (1080Ti) is more limiting than the CPU, I would spend far more on the GPU than CPU, There is currently a price war with GPU's, what's unfortunate about this is that Nvidia is playing with customers, price and performance, by releasing a new GPU only when being forced to by a new release from AMD hence Nvidias recent "Super" series of cards, but I doubt that Nvidia will soon release a new "Super" card which outperforms their current 2080Ti or Titan cards.
My advice for Elite VR is get a 2080Ti.

CPU:
Remember that consoles influence game development, next generation consoles will have 8 cores so use that as a base for CPU purchase.