Credits are too easy now.

I started playing Jan 2018 and remember very much that by the time I’d found the forums and streamers, pretty much the following month, there was a very large voice from sections of the community for better pay, moaning about nerfed exploits and the need for legit ‘exploit payouts.’ I also remember at least one ‘Creator’s Roundtable’ stream on YouTube about it. It seems most got what they wanted.

Credits I’m not too bothered about, they were replaced with the engineering materials and subsequently to that the system was changed, I personally suspect, to make it harder to find those high end mats. So perhaps FDev have given in to the demands for new players to have their quick-conda and simply made engineering the new progression - with more and more npcs using engineered ships everyone, regardless of hardcore PvP players or Solo only players, finds the need to engineer more and more pressing.

Maybe new players won’t remember the ‘struggle’ to go from a Cobra to a Cutter or Viper to Vette but I’ll bet they’ll remember the struggle to get a full rack of G5 rated shield boosters on their swanky new Cutter :D

And that's the worst thing that can happen to a game that fills a tight niche well.

Not that I'm sure ED ever really lived up to it's potential. I'm still waiting for the update that will introduce a dynamic economy and/or population model.

I feel like people are able to do too many donation missions and thus have undue influence over the BGS with minimal effort.

The worst thing that could have happened would be for the game to be a financial failure & have the servers switched off. Until 3.3 I was still able to play the way I did in 1.0 (I bought the game in January 2015), able to get a sense of accomplishment from playing my own way. Now I have more money than I know what to do with.

I liked that game, but I can still set goals & work towards them, just not the same ones and this way more people can do their own thing too :)