Does mining now require a combat ship?

Hi There Cmdr's
I just started playing after a 6 month break. Before the break I was mining void opals. I saw a video showing that Painite mining is now profitable so I thought I'd give it a go. I already had an engineered Type 7 fitted for mining so I took that. However, I was unable to mine. By the time I deplete a rock a pirate or 2 drop in. 4 out of 5 times one of the pirates was an Anaconda. I had to run leaving my limpets and minerals in space. I tried boosting away and beginning again (used to work before my break) but a new group would drop in on me again once I started mining.
So, either I had very bad luck or mining now requires being in a wing (something I've never done) or having a combat fitted ship, probably something tanky that can defeat an anaconda whilst continuing to mine, plus have enough space left over for all the mining stuff. Maybe an Anaconda or a Cutter.
Any suggestions?

A couple of days ago I had a persistent wing of ships whilst I was after Bromelite.
Struck me as a bit unusual.

Is the OP mining in a RES or something?

If I visit a hotspot I get harassed by 1 or 2 ships, ranging from a couple of eagles/adders to a Krait/Python.
Never had an Annie show up in a ring.

Also, I guess the OP isn't aware that you can just drop into a ring, wait for the pirates to show up, scan you and then leve before you start mining.

Also, also, I find that pirates don't show up very often at all these days.
Just spent a week mining, over multiple sessions, and I only got visited by pirates twice in total.

Regarding ship, I'd say a "combat ship" is more useful for deep-core mining than laser-mining.
To DC mine, it's better to have an agile ship so you can zip around the roid, planting your seizmic charges.
To laser-mine, you really just need to plod from roid to roid, shooting at them as you go.