Piracy Ability

I was about to try out some piracy for fun. Looked up some videos about it, and apparently I have to do this tedious game of bump the ship with my ship in order to get the cargo out. First....why is this a thing devs? As a fellow game developer, I would figure you would add something like a limpet i shoot that will force the ship to a halt? Or some kind of cord I can fire to latch myself to the ship? or just a more fun mechanic other than tediously lining my ship up over and over and bumping it. Come on guys.....something more fun and cool than that. Tractor beam maybe? only works if their thrusters are disabled or something I don't know. But just something other than what you guys have now. It would make priacy way more fun I feel, and giving it a unique limpet would feel cool to pirates.

I think bumping the ship is just so you haven’t technically done anything criminal like attacking it therefore the police don’t come around to stop the fun and you don’t end up with fines or a bounty on you.

Bumping the ship and bringing to a stop (or at least slowing it down) is good for when you snipe the drives out of the target and it's spinning away uncontrollably at 200+ m/s. It makes it easier to use hatch breaker and collector limpets, as limpets have a maximum range and can be pretty slow. You can try to match the speed of the target, but slowing it down can make the whole process of snagging the cargo less of a headache. One of the main reasons people slow a runaway target down like this is because opening your cargo hatch halves your speed. Sometimes, you're moving so slow with your hatch open you can't effectively keep up with the target.

People have suggested grapple hooks or tractor beams before. Hopefully we do get something like that in the future.

EDIT: Personally I'd like to see the FSD Interdictor get a secondary effect similar to a tractor beam, that only works against a target ship who's drives have been disabled.

Last edited: