Discussion The Visited Stars cache

Just a question of clarification. Does the import to (not the replacement of) the star cache still work? Where is the best place to get a list of all visited systems to add to the import file? Even if I need to write a program to format the import file, I am fine with that.

I am about to do some exploring and would like to make a copy of my star cache, then import all the explored stars of all cmdrs, explore a bit, replace the star cache with my backed up version. then re-import the stars that I recently explored.

Personally i think if a star is visited it should be global, after many reinstallations if my pcs and forgetting the file its getting annoying that its stored on my side rather than on my server save, so far visited adleast 300k different systems since i started playing however i can only see about 10k due to it being saved locally, this is ine of the main contributions to why the galaxy will never be explored properly and why the "secrets such as raxxla" if any wont be found, fdev have been told repeatedly there needs to be a global cache for this data however refuse to even acknowledge it.... 3306 i can open a galaxy map and scroll to a star 60k+ away and see the main star class plot routes to stars never been visited by anyone but cant even see if someone's been there or not in close proximity? Doesnt even make sense to be honest

I can confirm that ImportStars is broken and doesn't work. It's in a curious way though: the game takes the file and creates the empty output file, but doesn't put anything into it. As if it would start to convert the system names and then fails and times out on the very first one.
Earlier on, if memory it could be slow to work (one system per frame perhaps?), but now it doesn't work at all. So I'm still left without my earlier systems.

first up apologies, i've not read this whole thread sorry.