Thread: A Question about Shields

A Question about Shields

So I started playing around in the ED Shipyard looking to build the best shield and I have a question regarding the best shield which will determine my composition of engineering for boosters and shield.

Is the most effective shield, one that achieves the highest effective strength at the lowest raw shield strength?

Because my understanding is that recharge rate is applied to raw shield strength so the smaller the raw shield the faster the regeneration (and I'm not talking about a broken shield) and any damage that the shield suffers is applied to the effective shield strength for that type of damage, thermal, kinetic or explosive.

So if I was comparing two shield / booster combinations and they both had identical effective strength the one with the smaller raw shield strength would be better due to the faster regeneration.

Originally Posted by Grumpy181155 View Post (Source)
    So I started playing around in the ED Shipyard looking to build the best shield and I have a question regarding the best shield which will determine my composition of engineering for boosters and shield.

Is the most effective shield, one that achieves the highest effective strength at the lowest raw shield strength?

Because my understanding is that recharge rate is applied to raw shield strength so the smaller the raw shield the faster the regeneration (and I'm not talking about a broken shield) and any damage that the shield suffers is applied to the effective shield strength for that type of damage, thermal, kinetic or explosive.

So if I was comparing two shield / booster combinations and they both had identical effective strength the one with the smaller raw shield strength would be better due to the faster regeneration.
    Yes as long as your not going up against railguns, Plasma Accelrators, or Thargoids. Then you want RAW, UNTAPPED shield strength.