Are Guardian modules worth the grind?

Probably been asked before, but I'm new to this. Been playing on and off for a while but recently decided to check out the Guardians.

Picked up a bit of data and some material drops and looked up what they can be used for. Had a look at the FSD range extender and it looks useful, but they're asking for a ton of data and materials (energy cells / conduits etc). Question is, is it worth the grind? Looks like I could be farming for a while and I know I can log out/inn and repeat but will still take a long time to get everything I need.

Apart from FSD are any of the others worth persuing - are they any better than a fully engineered module for example? I'd be grateful for any opinion.

I tend to play Solo with a focus on exploration, hence the interest in the FSD, but are the weapons any good also - better than maxed out beams/MCs?

Ozric

Volunteer Moderator
I'm not going to be able to add anything in terms of the weapons because I've not used any of them, but my understanding is they are only better against Thargoids and not as good as G4 or 5 engineered weapons against Humans/NPCs.

The FSD was my only interest. I only explored two of the new Guardian sites and I got more than enough of the cells/conduits etc to buy the blueprint. So it's not a grind at all.

Everyone will cite the FSD Booster.

I'll also throw on there the following:
  • Guardian Hybrid Power Generator / Distributor
  • Shard Cannon
  • Guardian Shield Reinforcement Package
  • Guardian Module Reinforcement Package
  • XG7 Trident Fighter

Everyone always (correctly) says that the GHPG/GHPD are outstripped by equivalent G4/5 variants. But they're still entirely servicable and a massive step up from vanilla fittings, at no material cost beyond the initial unlock, unlike G4/5 engineered variants which you'll be paying out mats for every time.