Newcomer / Intro Best Smallest Ship for Mining?

I am relatively new to Elite Dangerous, not counting my days on the BBC Micro in the 1980s, although I've been playing for about a year I don't play often. Slowly been making some decent credits through transport missions mostly. I decided to give mining a try and it was a disaster. I'd watched couple of YouTube videos and they mostly recommend having something like the Anaconda for mining. Well turning tricks at stations and running transport missions certainly doesn't earn you enough for one of those so I checked my balance and went for a Type 6. I can hear the howls of laughter already.

The trouble is now I've started to kit it out I'm seeing my cargo capacity drop faster than your pension stocks on Black Monday. I managed to find a deposit of Grandidierite, which I thought might earn me a few credits. Two hours later I had a managed to mine nothing of the sort. Using a mining laser was obviously the wrong tool so back to YouTube.

Replace one mining laser with a Sub-Surface Displacement Missile launcher but then I need to get the Mining Limpets and that means losing either more cargo capacity, down from 32 to 16 tonnes or I lose my docking computer or SuperCruise Assist or Planetary Approach. I could probably get by without SA and do the odd loop of shame because I was watching the dog or looking at my phone.

So my question is is the Type 6 a reasonable getting started ship for mining or should I bin it off and go back to turning tricks and doing transport missions?

---------------------
Commander Torus
---------------------

Last edited:
The T-6 is reasonable for mining, but limited due to ist small hardpoints and power distributor. But as long as you only want to do laser mining (core mining is a bit problematic right now), she's ok.