Creating pack-hunting behavior; a comprehensive solution for implementation

Your Feature Request / Idea
Good evening/ morning/ afternoon to whomever may be reading this.

This post has come at the suggestion of the JWE reddit who suggested I put it up. So, made an account and here it is. I'll preface by saying I have some moderate knowledge in the area of animation and a working knowledge of creating solutions for games that exhibit ragdoll physics.

Over the last few weeks, ive been striving to create a solution to the games lack of pack hunting that can exist with little impact to the game as a whole. I have a limited but working understanding of JWEs code and there are immediately a few problems with pack hunting from a programming perspective.

To start, the dino rigs are basically all collision points due to the need for their legs and most central mass to interact with the environment in a meaningful way (e.g: dino feet always being flat on the ground, not clipping all the time).

Secondly, I'm pretty sure the dinosaurs also use a reactive animation set rather than preset loops when moving and running, which means truly organic pack hunting is unlikely to happen because of the sheer number of variables once you start factoring in things like other animals in the vicinity, environment and point of impact for say, a pouncing raptor who's legs and claws could be anywhere in their cycle. The client side load would be HUGE once you consider everything else that happens on your map, especially console players.

With all this in mind, I've come up with a solution that works in theory. Even the most simple of 32bit systems could handle it.

Implementation

Firstly, small carnivores need to be affixed with a set value that is a combination of stats and a basic value that is universal across the species.