Do updated parks update for everyone who has them downloaded?

I love the new map/share feature that we all saw coming to some extent, if someone has our park downloaded and we update it and save it again will it update for everyone who has it? That would be amaziiiing. [up]
 
No it won't. The original map will stay as it was produced by person X. If you change the map and upload it the updated map will be owned by you.
 
For that to happen there would have to be some sacrifices made, if another person made changes to that park how world they merge the 2 files? You would either have to not allow changes to the file or always overwrite what was done with what the owner of the file has. Neither of those options are good IMO so what would be the point
 
Last edited:

Brett C

Community Manager
Staff member
This is how steamworks functions for files...

Creator makes file.
Creator uploads the thingy to their steam account via ingame tool.
User sees the file, downloads it.
User2 (lets call 'em User2) goes to modify said file.
User2 is then prompted to upload the file to their own collection.

If you guys have seen how shared save games work on Cities Skylines, it's similar to that on steam.
 
- - - - - Additional Content Posted / Auto Merge - - - - -

For that to happen there would have to be some sacrifices made, if another person made changes to that park how world they merge the 2 files? You would either have to not allow changes to the file or always overwrite what was done with what the owner of the file has. Neither of those options are good IMO so what would be the point
You are right it might get messy, best to just upload absolutely finished parks then not ones in progress
I understand if the original author updated it it would erase any work user2 has added into their version... not good
 
Last edited:
Top