How do you record video of Elite gameplay?

I'm not a newbie to the game, but more new at making a recording of my gameplay. I have resisted thus far as I assumed it would slow my framerate and gameplay itself. As well, I have not seen any threads on this forum on how this is done, the tools or apps needed, or the best and worst ways to do it, as well as tricks and tips in getting the best results. So, I have a MSI-FXA990 m/b 32GB Ram, AMD-9350 proc. running at 4.0Ghz, with a GTX-1070Ti/8GB of Ram and some SSD's with space to capture video.

I also see wonderful gameplay and video made of gameplay for instructional purposes, like the "Pilot" who does these on ship types with opinions and audio overlays, but I can wait for these instructions, and this tread would be a good place for those suggestions and comments.

Any suggestions on how best to do these things?

o7.....

Last edited:
There's two ways you can do it, record directly from your graphics card or use software to record
As you have an Nvidia card, see if you have a program in your graphics card settings called Shadowplay
If you want to try using software, there's a number of options such as OBS (Open Broadcaster Software), XSplit and a version of OBS made by Streamlabs referred to as SLOBS (StreamLabs Open Broadcaster Software)

As you're running a graphics intense program to record with, it can impact your gameplay. The biggest way you'll notice is what is referred to as dropped frames. This is where the recording can't keep up with the game, and so it skips frames to try to keep up. The higher the buffer rate you set, the less likely this is to happen, but the more intensive it will be on your system. If you find recording in 1080p is problematic, try recording in 720p instead. You also have to think about frames per second (fps) as some systems can't record very well in 60fps, if so, try 30fps instead.