Newcomer / Intro How much impact do players have in the galaxy?

Hi everyone,

I am new to the game and wondered if player actions impact the galaxy as a whole. Do new bases open up or do new systems become colonized if you repeatedly do missions for certain factions? Can you sponsor a base or faction fleet by investing into it? For example, if you ran enough missions at a small outpost would it eventually turn into a large base with more amenities? If you ran supplies for a pirate faction would they start having NPC pilots with greater skill and better ships making trading lanes more dangerous? Could you do the opposite and reinforce a system's defense force by doing more than just shooting down pirates? With the size of the game it seems like every player could have their own solar system to develop and not crowd anyone else.

The answer to most of your questions is "Kind of"

I'd recommend you to read an overview or guide on how the background simulation works (Like this one, but there are other ones going into more detail)

Players can influence quite a lot in a system, but it's almost always indirect. You can definitely help your faction of choice to grow in influence, take over stations, even expand to other nearby systems.
But there are caveats. The system population, for example. If the system is too large, a single person will have a hard time influencing anything, only a synchronized effort of a group of people can.
etc...

That guide was really good, thanks. I guess I'll have to find a small system with a population of 20K or less and see if I can bring about a noticable difference.
Traffic (number of other CMDR visits) is more important than size. Even a 10m+ system can be controlled by a single player really easilly (just a little slower), but high population systems tend to also have a high traffic, so the original advice is correct, but for the wrong reason ;)