General / Off-Topic I bought myself a Partner

I've been driving Audi A4s for the last 20 years. I like them because they're good on fuel and generally have nice handling, though the last one (2009 113PS) seems to be a step downwards in that respect. I don't drive so much these days, but when I do, I'm normally carrying stuff, like my bicycle, R/C airplanes, stuff for my boat and runs to the tip. I had a bit of cash in the bank, so decided to treat myself to a new vehicle. After a lot of deliberation, I decided that a small van would be a good idea. After looking at a few, I found out that other vans, like the Vauxhall and Citroen are rebadged Peugeots and many of the other vans use the Peugeot engine, so I thought I might as well get the real thing and went to a Peugeot garage on 29th July.

That date is significant. The 31st July is the end of the year and the dealers have massive incentives to shift as many vehicles as they can before 1st August, so I was able to negotiate a good deal. From the list price I got discounts of 30% + 10% + 2% + plywood lining for nothing, which was about £8,300 saving on the list price. I guess nobody pays the list price and I've no idea whether it's just a made up figure. Last time I bought a new car, I got 13.5% discount and I know that was a good deal. I had good bargaining power because I said I wanted the economy basic low-power version, but they only had the top of the range high power version in stock, so he said he could do it at the same price as the basic one. That was the starting point of the negotiation. I showed my dissatisfaction with that option even though I didn't really care. I just didn't want to pay for it.