Is the Fer de Lance the ultimate ship for combat fighters?

Greetings,

I've spent a lot of hours in ED flying many ships. When I figured out something that might be helpful to others I posted on the Forum. For the game basics I'm usually right. For the ships I missed it.

I'm a fighter pilot coming up with the Viper, Vulture, FAS, Imp Courier and did well with an Imp Clipper at the time. Then I had problems with the game play moving up to the Python and Anaconda. It is a different style of combat. Still I was dedicated so have an amazing combat Python thinking this is for me. Maybe not so much.

I bypassed the Fer de Lance. Probably because I didn't like the ED version verses the 1984 version. But now with my experience I own one and to me it appears to be the ultimate fighter pilot moving up ship in the game. Even stock it takes out most opponents even with the smarter NPCs. Sorry I missed that.

But it is not about your ship. It is all about your skills using it. That takes time, patience and desire to master. Personally my combat Python is great and I do well with it but I'm having more fun for now with the Fer de Lance. I feel silly talking about combat before owning the FdL. With my skills it just takes out any opposition. Your results may vary. Go figure.

The moral is don't always believe what one reads on the Forum. Even with the best intentions without experience it can often be wrong.

Regards

Last edited:
The FdL certainly is a magnificent ship. I don't get to use it as much as I'd like to since the ruins hunt started, but it's still my favorite ship by far.

I initially purchased the FDL then sold it about 15 minutes later, I kept wondering what the hell can I do with this limited fancy looking ship, a couple of days later I decided to give it another go, modded thrusters for a 420m/s boost, fitted 4A multi-cannon also modded for efficiency, added 8T cargo space, it became a very nice courier more than capable of defending itself.