Issues with main game (and enjoyment) after starting Alpha

I may be in a unique situation here, but I've found that my love for Elite has waned now that the Alpha has arrived.

Some background:
I started playing Elite around June '20 and have logged around 1600 hours since. My rig is a desktop PC (i5-2500k overclocked to 4.7GHz across all cores, 8GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 1060 6GB) and runs (well, ran, but more on that later) Elite with no problem at High graphical settings. After starting out keyboard and mouse, I moved to using dual sticks (2x Thrustmaster T.16000M) once I realised I was hooked - and purchased VoiceAttack and HCS packs. The dual sticks were an eye opener to me, completely different gaming experience and I loved it.

When the Alpha dropped I was giddy like a lot of people, but things went wrong very early. First off I had problems with controls - mapping FPS movements to dual sticks was ok, but the experience isn't great. I will likely revisit that at some point, but it's just cumbersome and unpleasant to use. My limited desk space means I can't switch between sticks and keyboard easily, but that's where it looked like I needed to go - it's not ideal when I'm heavily invested in one control system for flight. Unfortunately I couldn't actually go anywhere as, even with dropping graphical settings to Low, I couldn't leave Hopkins - as soon as I tried to load the Adityan system map (directly or via Apex) I got a crash to desktop. This hasn't changed, so I had to abandon my desktop for Alpha testing.