News Meet the Team #2: Josh Atack (Concept Artist)

Status
Thread Closed: Not open for further replies.
Meet the Team #2: Josh Atack (Concept Artist)

2qansrt.jpg

Welcome to the second Meet the Team interview! This week it’s the turn of concept artist Josh Atack to go under the microscope. Josh has been working at Frontier for over a year and has been on Elite: Dangerous almost exclusively for that time.

Before joining Frontier Josh also worked on IPs and projects for Doctor Who, Bethesda, Irrational Games, Square Enix, EA, Tiger Aspect and Sumo Digital, to name a few. Like last time, I began by asking Josh how he became a concept artist and what advice he would give to anyone else wishing to pursue a career in the same field.
I got into concept art from a mix of my interest in art, science and gaming. Once I realised that someone actually got to sit there and draw this stuff all day I realised that is what I wanted to do. I studied Illustration in Bristol, got my foot in the door in film in London and then bumbled sideways into concept art.

What advice would I give someone wanting to get into concept art? Learn the fundamentals of art and design: form, perspective, colour, design, rhythm, values, etc. They are universal tools with which you can tackle any subject. Be interested in everything and have an open and curious mind, read books, ask questions. Your imagination is your main tool, as you need to come up with new ideas every day, but you need to be able to transcribe those mental images into reality, so draw as much as possible.

What programs do you use to produce your work and do you still ever start an idea with just pen and paper?