Ships Meta Alloys, the solo-in-game way?

Hey, I play in solo mode and usually like to make progress without looking things up on the internet whenever I can, but I have reached the limits of my patience with Felicity Farseer's request.
There's no in-game hint on where to find meta alloys, so I studied the codex and started looking for Thargoid barnacles, but every location I visited only had depleted ones.
So I finally gave up and looked it up. Some people said to go to the Witch Head nebula, which I did, but after visiting several planets with barnacles, I still haven't found a living one.
Everybody said to simply buy one alloy at Maia, but that seems so incredibly lame to me. How are you supposed to figure that out by yourself?
If barnacles aren't an active resource anymore, they should definitely change Farseer's request to something else, because buying an item at a place you have to be told about on the internet doesn't have a lot to do with exploration, in my view.
Or am I missing something here?

Coal Sack is the newness for Barnacles - I believe those articles are still in-game, so you could have found them. There are also other Thargoid locations in the codex, you could have checked them. Surprised you didn't find any MA in the WH, not aware of them vanishing 🤷‍♂️

Edit: Though yes, MA aren't incredibly easy to find - well, until you've found them ;)

Last edited:
Hmmm, thanks, I'll look it up. Have checked multiple Barncales in at least three systems in WH, but all were broken, so I assumed it would be the same as everywhere else I had checked before. In any case, compared to the requests of the other entry level engineers, Felicity's is quite demanding and time-consuming... 😵

Ok, finally found one, thanks again. My two mistakes were: 1) I hadn't really paid attention to GalNet as much as I should have (the newsfeed seems a bit overwhelming when starting out). 2) It hadn't occured to me to filter the galaxy map for Thargoid civilization.