Horizons Mission Failed - Again

Okay - I am a newbie so take that into consideration. I have been playing for a week or so and am flying a fully upgraded Cobra. Moved my way down in to the empire and am doing some missions around Sifjar. Took a "hold this package until contacted" with 22min left. Fine I say, will bop to the target system, head to a nearby RES get a few kills and wait for my contact - I flew around the that system for 90 minutes and was never contacted. Real life interviend and I had to jump off. Came back to the "mission failed" message - nice.

Took another "hold this for a while" mission - it had 14 min left. Flew to the target system, hit a RES for a bit. When I ran out of ammo I headed back to the station. Leaving the station I get the a message from my contact "follow my wake" RIGHT as that displays I get interdicted and dropped out of FSD. After killing the Viper (who had no shields? :):):)) - my contact is nowhere to be found. I fly around again for 45 min and finally get the "mission failed" message.

Are these typical results? I did do one successful mission in between these two - but come on for the piddly amount they pay (around 100k for me right now) these missions are WAY more trouble than they are worth, or am I doing it wrong?

Help a newb out....

Thanks

Cmdr. Vernonator

Wasting time hitting Rez's on very short mission times probably doesn't help. I never do anything else until the mission is complete. And you're right about the payouts. They don't seem like they are worthwhile, but remember to check the reputation gains when you take the mission. Often that makes it worthwhile, especially if the mission itself isn't all that difficult.

14 minutes on a mission means I will either not take it, or set every bit of my power to max and hit the throttle to get from A to B at lightspeed :p it is an incredibly short time and faffing about is usually not an option for any mission below 30 minutes.