Upcoming update

Deleted member 182079

D
By FDev standards I guess September/October could be considered 'early'. We know for quite a long time now that they work on 'something', and them not wanting to disclose what that is suggests to my pessimistic mind that they're simply not confident enough that they can actually deliver, in terms of features, quality, or timelines (or all of it), which concerns me somewhat.

Professionally, I do follow the 'under-sell, over-deliver' approach myself and kind of understand if that's what FDev is going for.

On the other hand - I'm not a marketing expert so don't really know whether their approach is good or bad objectively speaking. I'm just getting increasingly impatient, and the longer they keep things secret, the bigger the hype will build up (or worse, die down), and with that the risk of disappointed players will increase.

Just say what the DLC will cover on a high level, and players can realign their expectations, at least a little. I honestly can't see the downside for FDev, and it's not like they never overpromised stuff in the past. Look at FCs.

Well, it was not me who brought vanilla into the picture. I simply brought the facts that were being blurred, including the one about Horizons never having a set final date (and even if it had been Winter it would have been up to 15 months, not "a year").

Now, we can speculate why it didnt. And if we are into discussing what FDEV thought or not internally my take is that FDEV simply was not sure about it.

But didn't it originally have a date/time frame for the last update, until Frontier removed that from the store description?

and we can expect an announcement as early as....October? September perhaps?
By FDev standards I guess September/October could be considered 'early'.

All we know officially is this:

FDev reckon they're going to stick with their original hype schedule. Which would mean: "some time in summer 2020, after the Fleet Carriers update".