Which is the better combat vessel: Dolphin, Orca or Beluga?

I've been mat farming the past few days with this in mind, but I'm not sure which is best. I have many of the standard combat ships and thought I should add one these passenger liners to have a bit of fun with it for combat purposes. I prefer large ships, but not exclusively as I have fun in Viper, Vulture, FDL, Mamba, Krait and other small to med ships. Which one would you choose for combat?

Last edited:
Which is the better combat vessel: Dolphin, Orca or Beluga?

Human.

lunar whaling.jpg

I have a combat Beluga, it's a lot of fun.

I use mine exclusively for assassinations. If you're looking for suggestions, here is my build.

That build isn't complete but it's a start.

You could change the Pack hounds to Frag cannons if you don't have them unlocked. I think Mr. Rick6549 runs a frag cannon Beluga if I remember correctly. He is the foremost authority on Beluga's in these parts.
That link is broken for me, but I get the idea. I have most combat PP modules unlocked. I can see a packhound beluga as a nice support role in a wing.

Yeah sorry, Coriolis is being weird for me today. It won't generate shortlinks and the regular links aren't working well.

The gist of it is:
  • All packhounds with extra ammo and various experimentals
  • 6A Armored, monstered PP (Don't go with overcharged, heat is an issue with this thing)
  • size 6 fighter bay
  • 6C biweaves. Build them for max resistances. The Beluga will never get high absolute numbers so go for fast recharge.
  • The rest of the internals are HRP's and MRP's. This thing can hull tank pretty darn good. 5K+ absolute and around 10K with resistances.

The Orca makes a great combat ship without guns, just beef up the shield and use it to ram the targets, works great. And they can't catch you if you run away.