Alert! Please help this PC noob

Hello my name is Darrion Marrow I'm reaching out to any and all who receive this message.
I am very new to PC gaming so new to it I don't even own a PC. For 2 and half years now I have followed elite dangerous. I really want to join the community but I'm having trouble figuring out whether I am able to buy a gaming PC that will run the game with no problem. If so what would y'all recommend?
On the other I have been getting the idea that Im going to have to build a PC myself. If this is the case will anyone give me an idea of what all I need and how much it will cost me in total?
Thank you all for any wisdom you can share.

'I don't even own a PC'

How did you post this message on the forum?

Do you just want a PC for games? That wasn't the justification I gave my parents. Its for Educational purposes.

Well you know that a PC exists and that considers it the premiere platform for 'Playing Video games'. Alternatively have you looked at consoles.

Last edited:
What's your budget, where are you (so we can suggest websites/retailers etc) and how au fait would you be in doing a build?

Cost will vary greatly, depending on what kind of experience you're after. Regular 1080p ("Full HD") on a monitor/TV, higher resolutions or VR.
Also your rough location (Europe / North America / elsewhere) will help folk to point decent PC part and/or pre-built PC sellers.

Five years ago I built the ultimate PC. I've been building custom PCs for many years. It cost $7000,00. Most of it was in Adobe and other products dealing with making a living supporting people who make movies in Hollywood and Atlanta. I did very well. Today it still runs ED even with my latest curved screen at 3440x1440 using GTX 680 cards. No problem always maintaining a constant 100 FPS. I don't need more playing ED. Other games need more because Frontier hasn't gone there.