Long distance travel - Experienced help needed

Hi. I am new to travelling serious distances. I have engineered my FSD on my python to level 5. So I decided to gather some high grade raw materials from OUTOTZ HD-J D9-3 which I will gather and trade down with a material trader. Well my ship is struggling to jump now as I get further out. Is it normal to just point your ship in a direction and just wait it out until you can jump? I have tried maintaining a line as close to the galactic plane as I can but these stars are quite far apart. Any help here would appreciated as im really not sure what else to do in this situation. I have travelled from Jameson memorial

Jump distance is calculated from jump-in point (next to the central star in the system) to jump-in point, so travelling in SC towards your destination does not help.

Does your Python have max size class A FSD - and what is your current jump range?

Also I'm now not certain I'm even near the galactic plane at all 🤬! How do I know if I'm near it?

First off, 28ly will not give you a lot of opportunity when you get really far from the core, one of the arms, or as mentioned to far above or below the galactic plane. You can check where you are relative to these a couple of ways.
1. Open up your Codex, then Discoveries. This will show you where you are from a birds eye view looking down on the galaxy, 90 degree from the galactic plane.
2 Open your galaxy map and zoom out as far as you can. This will show where you are at an oblique angle which you can then orient to look down or along the galactic plane.

Edit: You're close enough to the galactic plane, but you may be between two arms (where stars can be denser), so it may be down to your relatively low jump range - or, do you have any stars filtered out?

Last edited: