General / Off-Topic The safest place

Status
Thread Closed: Not open for further replies.
Obviously I'm no expert but jebus H cristi that's a HELL of alot of cosincidences don't you all think?

I think you're mostly seeing connections where none are implied.

The only real coincidence here is that there was a virology lab in close proximity to the first reported cases, and that does seem to be just that...coincidental.

Scientists are baffled by how FAST this thing mutated to infect humans....maybe it didn't mutate after all.

The article you've linked to feature an argument about whether certain forms of bat SARS would even need to mutate to infect humans and doesn't imply that that SARS-CoV-2 was in any way engineered.

edit quote from the article: "Simon Wain-Hobson, a virologist at the Pasteur Institute in Paris, points out that the researchers have created a novel virus that “grows remarkably well” in human cells. “If the virus escaped, nobody could predict the trajectory,” he says. "

That viruses are created and manipulated for research purposes is not news and SHC014-CoV isn't SARS-CoV-2. Indeed, the altered/constructed SHC014-CoV variant looks like it's constructed because it's built from previously known material. SARS-CoV2 is not, which is strong evidence that it's natural. It also appears to have less affinity for human ACE2 than the 2003 strain of SARS-CoV, which wouldn't make any sense if it were meant to be a weapon, or even part of ‘gain-of-function’ research mentioned in that article.

Last edited: