Elite Dangerous Update 7 Progress

the-fast-how.gif

That's a tad unlikely don't you think? But I am a software developer, and I don't really care whether you believe me or not. 🤷‍♀️

Noted. Apologies for being a turdhammer, whatever that is.

I just know that a large team of people taking a week to fix one (on the face of it simple, but maybe it isn't, I don't know the codebase) bug would raise eyebrows to say the least.
It seems like it's an intermittent problem- would flipping the switch on something like that not just give it to the players currently unaffected by it (or something of that nature)?

I don't know what people would do with this information if I gave it, to be honest.
It's asked a lot and it baffles me a bit. Is it so people can use it as a negative reaction somehow? I hope not.
It certiainly isn't an answer that would help any of the current situation, is all I'm saying :)
Hey Sally, your comments here are always great to read! As you appear to be asking why some in the community would be interested in knowing how many people are working on Elite, here's some thoughts. First though, I agree, I suspect most people fully realise that the answer to the question won't help improve the current situation (things are moving at the best pace they already can after all).

So, I suspect some people feel that team size is a reflection of how Frontier as a company view the Elite project internally, as it's a statement of the amount of resources being put towards the game. :) For example, rightly or wrongly, a team of 30 to 50 might be viewed as "maintaining and bug fixing, along with small content updates", a team of 200 might be viewed as "long term development on an ongoing project, with significant plans".

Whether or not anyone turns that into a negative will depend on a lot of things. But even if you said 500 people are working on Elite, some people would still turn it into a negative. There's always going to be negative people.