The obscurity of our beloved hobby...

The last weekend I spent with my wife on a meeting of board game friends.
My wife plays a lot of board games, I play them too, but not as much.
It was a bit like a LAN party*, just without computers.

* LAN parties were invented before we had the Internet, to spend time together playing games.
One had to physically carry his PC to another location, and link them via an obscure system
called local area net, which is WLAN but with cables. Pure madness 😂

But I digress...

The demographics of the meeting were such as that many people there were my age,
around 40, mostly pairs, some with children, some without.

We were 35 people. Many of them playing not only board games but computer games too.

One other player plays Elite Dangerous, and he confessed he didn't even start with engineers.
Flies a Python though, so no absolute beginner.

At my work (roughly 20 people in the office) people play World of Tanks, or Farming Simulator,
or World of Warcraft. No one ever heard of Elite. Similar demographics.

My wife, as a school teacher, is already an outlier in her peer group, as she plays a lot of computer games (and board games obviously),
just no Elite Dangerous. Her co-workers play no computer games at all.

In Germany we have a phrase "Ein Geisterfahrer? Hunderte!!!"
("One driver driving the wrong direction on the Autobahn? I see hundreds!!)
which basically means one isn't able to see himself as the outlier, but instead thinks all others are 😆

So are we nerds? I mean, real nerds? Playing a 5-year old game no one else plays?
Is Elite really that much of an outlier and unknown out there?

What are your observations?

It's OK Bigmac - you're just weird - enjoy it :)
My writing is a bit in jest, but it really got me thinking as the general demographics of the meeting
was such as it is, and still there were so few players playing Elite. There were even lots of people
who had computers at the time but didn't knew the original Elite.