Newcomer / Intro Bunch of Noob questions

I'm new to ED, and I have been having the most frustrating time ever with this game. Things that could be simple are needlessly complicated or frustrating. I've asked a few questions on the forums and have received decent answers so instead of creating thread after thread, I thought I'd ask them here.

1. I'm trying to make money via the method of finding unidentified signal sources and nav beacons. Now I can find them OK, but when I get near them in frameshift, I exist frameshift at the right location (both within the blue, speed and distance) but when I exit, the signal source is not there and there is nothing nearby. I can never locate the nav beacon or the signal again, it's like I'm in a completely different location.

The same goes for finding ships, I see them in frameshift, target them and exit frameshift so I can engage combat, but when I exit frameshift the ship is not there and I lose the target.

2. Is there an easy way to find the entrance to a station? Some of these are logically shaped and easy to find but others are shaped like a six sided dice and I find myself flying around them 5 or 6 times before I'm able to locate the entrance.

3. When I'm in framedrive, sometimes I put the throttle on full stop, but it still says I'm going too fast to exit, even when my speed is 0.14c or some such, how do I go slower?

Thanks in advance.. I'm sure more questions will come up.

Last edited:
For the frame shifting other players, you have to have an interdiction drive installed to use on them and pull them out of super cruise, otherwise you're droppping alone. For nav beacons and uss locations, you have to slow way way down and when you're near it it should say "safe to exit hyper space". But you have to be 1Mm or 1000km away and locked onto the target. Very close, very slow :)