Can't find my friend in the social tab

I've been playing for a couple of years, and my friend just bought a copy of the game. We went through the tutorials, he's left the newbie systems, and he and I are in the same system, on the same station. Not only that, we're physically sitting right next to each other and can see each other's screens. When either of us goes into the social menu in order to add each other to our friends list, neither of us can see the other. We've tried it in open (we're never in the same instance), we've tried it from the main menu, nothing.

Anybody have any ideas?

If you have not been set as friends yet, one of you needs to send a friend request through the main menu. Select Social and search for you friend to send him a request. Once accepted, you will see him or her in the comms menu in-game. If you've done this I don't know what the issue is.

If you have not been set as friends yet, one of you needs to send a friend request through the main menu. Select Social and search for you friend to send him a request. Once accepted, you will see him or her in the comms menu in-game. If you've done this I don't know what the issue is.
Yeah, tried that. We can't find each other in the main menu, either.

Are you on the same platform?

Yeah, tried that. We can't find each other in the main menu, either.

If you are same platform and ran a search for your friend's commander name from the main menu, and he doesn't appear, maybe he blocked you :)

both parties need upnp enabled in both pc and router or ports forwarded in order to get put in the same instance
still if the servers are having a bad day good luck with that...…………..