Horizons Discovery scan makes NPC ships hostile?

Hi all, I'm a born-again newb as I haven't played ED since Dec 2015, before Horizons. A lot has changed and I'm not sure if some things are features or bugs. Hope someone can help me out with this one.

Are NPC ships supposed to become hostile if you use an ADS scan while they are targeted??

I was at Pleione 11A looking for barnacles and encountered one of the imperial capital ships (eventually found 3 there). My first time seeing one so no idea what to expect. It was green in the scope, and my rep is Empire friendish (65%) so I approached slowly.

There were also a pair of "Imperial Navy" couriers, also green (but Lawless due to the system). Their chatter spam said something about "establish a perimeter". One approached and scanned me and moved on with no message.

As I reached about 2km from the INV, I was cycling through the different targets on it. For some reason I pressed my scan button forgetting it's an ADS not a ship scanner. (I think I did that because in SRV we can now scan stuff for data packets, so the new habit took over).

As soon as the ADS honked one of the couriers became hostile and opened fire on me (the other one stayed green in the scope). I also swear I was taking volleys from the INV. It was dark night so I couldn't see much except being fired upon from the INV's direction and near it. One of the weapons being fired was like a ball of energy coasting toward me, a weapon type I've not seen before.

I got my DBX out of there by low waking back up to OC. Lost shields and third of hull.

After shields returned I went back down. This time no couriers. INV remained green and I was able to cozy up for selfies. I didn't honk the ADS again though!!

At the other 2 cap ship sites there were no other small ships encountered.

Any idea what happened here?? Was the ADS just a coincidence? Why did the courier suddenly go agro on a friendly?? Is there a bug here?

Thanks!