Issue with my first mission

I just started playing and accepted my first mission. I get to the system that I was directed to, look up on the internet how to find a black box (scan nav beacon), I do that and it directs me to my objective. The problem is that it points the objective to be in the center of the sun. How am I suppose to do this, just ignore/drop the mission...what is this man. I just started playing and now I can't even accomplish the very first thing I'm going to try to do.

Edit : I don't know where to post this, I just joined. I guess it's that I am looking for a suggestion about what to do? Or is this section for suggestions about gameplay improvements?

Attachments

• Screenshot 2024-05-02 145037.png
    Screenshot 2024-05-02 145037.png
    1.6 MB · Views: 26
Scan the nav beacon in real space (or FSS the system in SC - takes longer) to find your mission signal source (it will show when you go back into SC) N.B. select (target) the actual beacon (the white rectangle on your radar), not the yellow circle name marker for the beacon location. The system is in blue 'cos at the moment all you know is that this is the mission system.

P.S. Welcome to the game, you will find lots to ask questions about, don't hesitate to ask. There is a friendly sub-forum for "newcomers" https://forums.frontier.co.uk/forums/elite-dangerous-newcomers-guides-tutorials/

PPS - I forgot that I did a video of a BB mission, have a peek here if it helps (time stamp is arriving at the nav beacon)

Source: https://youtu.be/XGAxcQ7T6oA?t=179

Last edited:
yeah...what is FSS..what is SC...what is N.B....like I said, I am new and don't know these terms

Also, thank you for replying, It seems like there are steps I missed. I just don't know them.

yeah...what is FSS..what is SC...what is N.B....like I said, I am new and don't know these terms

Also, thank you for replying, It seems like there are steps I missed. I just don't know them.