Ship Builds & Load Outs Ships Passive defence systems

Hi all!

I'm new to the game, but my ultimate goal is to be able to play ED very passively as a long haul space trucker (or possibly a passenger transport), gliding from A to B, and avoiding combat as much as possible. I've formed this picture in my head of fitting out a ship in such a way that any pirates that attack will be surprised by that it basically defends itself instead of me having to do any manual dog-fighting.

As a first attempt at this, I've just fitted a point defence turret to my Sidewinder, but that seems to do very little to stop me getting blown to pieces whenever I get attacked. Is my idea at all feasible? If so, could someone give me some pointers as to the kind of ship and equipment I should be aiming for next?

I've heard there are some sort of automatic lasers I might be able to get in addition to the point defence turret, and I'm guessing there will be ways to significantly upgrade my shields. Maybe there are certain ships that just have loads of slots for automatic lasers and defence turrets? Or greater shield capacity? Or a particular station to go to to get hold of this sort of equipment?

Any pointers would be great!

Hi all!

I'm new to the game, but my ultimate goal is to be able to play ED very passively as a long haul space trucker (or possibly a passenger transport), gliding from A to B, and avoiding combat as much as possible. I've formed this picture in my head of fitting out a ship in such a way that any pirates that attack will be surprised by that it basically defends itself instead of me having to do any manual dog-fighting.

As a first attempt at this, I've just fitted a point defence turret to my Sidewinder, but that seems to do very little to stop me getting blown to pieces whenever I get attacked. Is my idea at all feasible? If so, could someone give me some pointers as to the kind of ship and equipment I should be aiming for next?