First discover is "Validation"

I started playing again recently and stepped out for another exploration run. When I arrived at a bookmark given by a friend, I noticed the first discoverer was listed as "Validation". That wasn't the commander's name I was expecting. After departing and heading toward Sag A, I have found perhaps 1-2 more systems with Validation as the first discoverer. I posed a question about this on the Q&A thread on r/elitedangerous and the response was "CMDR Validating are CMDRs who did first discoveries on XBox." I haven't been able to find anything on it while doing forum searches here. Is there an issue with Xbox commanders not getting credit for first discoveries?

I've been absent from the game since February or so and haven't kept up with any updates or issues with ED. I also checked some of my previous first discovery bookmarks and my name popped up appropriately. Thanks for any input on this topic, I love exploring and my motivation is that some other commander will see my name plastered all over the cool stuff out there.

Nope. There is/was a CMDR Validating who scanned a lot of systems. I'm on PC an find their systems every once and a while. You'll get first discoveries when you return to starport and turn in your data for untagged systems.

Hope that helps. Fly safe CMDR o7.

I started wondering if there was a CMDR Validating after I posted this, which would be an interesting coincidence. I appreciate the feedback on it.

Gtg on the process for untagged systems.

o7

We're still not entirely clear on this issue. "Cmdr Validating" certainly seems to turn up far more often than one would expect if it were merely a random Cmdr's name. And there are cases such as yours, where the name of the Cmdr who first discovered something is definitely known, and it isn't "Validating".