Article: "Elite’s Distant Worlds 2 expedition proves the game is wildly unbalanced, and that’s OK"

Status
Thread Closed: Not open for further replies.
That's patently untrue. Reviewing anything is inevitably going to come with a matter of inherent opinion, but that opinion doesn't need to include judgement of the audience that thing is for, political opinion, or ideological filters through which the review is constructed. I am actually a journalist, and I went to university to get a proper degree for the job, a BA in communications majoring in journalism and PR, and a proper Masters in journalism as well. While I was studying, I learned how NOT to insert my politics into things like movie reviews, and how NOT to base my movie reviews through ideological lenses. Now, it appears to be the rule rather than the exception, and people like yourself are lead to the unfortunate belief that this is 'normal'. It's not. And there are quite a few outlets doing it right. The problem is, they aren't popular, because they don't pander to a political point of view, so they don't pass anyone's political purity test.

Where I worked we only cared about hard facts and practicalities.

The way it works is this.

You as a journalist write an article influenced by your own bias/preference/point of view. Emphasis is put on things you think are important, things you don't want known are played down this doesn't need to be a conscious decision. You tailor the article to fit the publication you are writing for or they reject it.

You submit it and your editor adds his own slant, whilst applying whatever bias he/she has learned to habitually apply whilst working for that publication.

The head honcho has a look and then adds his.

Multiple bias filters to get the article published then the readers apply their own when choosing publications.