Newcomer / Intro Some dumb questions!

HI all,

I'm relatively new to Elite Dangerous (Horizons) and exploring around Deciat at the moment.
One thing that I am not clear about...

Is it safe to log off and leave your ship in space? How long does it persist for? Is it better to be docked / landed?
Presumably you can't just log out if you are under attack...

Also - is Deciat still dangerous? I have been in a few times now to Felicity Farseer in open and have still never encountered another commander (is this just luck on my part)?

CHeers

Is it safe to log off and leave your ship in space
Usually (>99.99%) yes. There are a few rare occasions near planets or rings where your ship might be in danger when you log in again (because the planet moved while your ship didn't), but in those cases the game is supposed to instantiate you at a sufficient distance.

Presumably you can't just log out if you are under attack...
If you are under attack (or any other situation where you might encounter damage), you get a (IIRC 15 seconds) logout timer. If you are not in a PvP situation, it's up to you to circumvent that timer (e.g. task kill). In a PvP situation, logging out via menu (and enduring the timer) is legal according to FD, although quite a few PvP pilots more or less strongly frown upon this.

is Deciat still dangerous
Depends - like all unorganized PxP - on your instancing. And on your ship and skills, of course. I haven't seen anything aggressive that would have been bigger than a Chieftain, but YMMV.

As said, no need to dock up before logging out. I'm 35kLy from the bubble - no way I can dock. I like sometimes to land on a planet before retiring, just to get a better view when I log in, but its not necessary.

My alt account has recently done a heap of engineering and encountered no gankers in Deciat or other engineers - I think the seal-clubbers got bored and have moved on. More likely to get attacked at Community Goals.