Developer Journal | Bringing Feathered Dinosaurs to Life

Jens Erik

Senior Community Manager
Frontier
Hello again Park Managers!

The Jurassic World Evolution 2: Dominion Biosyn Expansion is just around the corner. We're incredibly excited for all the new things this DLC will add to the game, the biggest being - of course - the all new feathered dinosaurs and reptiles: Therizinosaurus, Pyroraptor, Quetzalcoatlus, and Feathered T. rex!

In this Dev Journal we're joined by three people from the artist and animation team, to share some insights into how they worked on bringing feathered dinosaurs to life.

Thank you so much for joining us for this Dev Journal. Could you please introduce yourself to everyone in the community?

Maruf:
Hi, I’m Maruf and I’m a Senior Character Artist working on Jurassic World Evolution 2. I helped create the feathered dinosaurs you will get to meet very soon.

Amy: Hello! I’m Amy Hook and I am the Lead Animator on the Jurassic World Evolution 2: Dominion Biosyn Expansion.

Jack: Hey! I’m Jack, one of the animators on Jurassic World Evolution 2, working hard to bring you the biggest, baddest, and featheriest dinosaurs (and flying reptile) yet!

Although dinosaurs did exist, the remains we have of them are limited. Could you talk a bit about the research you've done to bring the feathered dinosaurs to life?

Maruf:
A lot of our initial references came from the dinosaurs as they appear in Jurassic World Dominion. That gave us a great indication of which artistic direction to take when creating the in-game counterparts. We wanted to give fans something new and exciting and I think the team really nailed it. Interestingly, there was such a range in the visual look of the different animals. Some had tufty hair all over, some had a mixture of feathers growing from hair and some even had what we referred to as a ‘full back rug’! We were really happy to be able to recreate some cool and interesting looks.