ED core game & Odyssey question

So, I started playing ED on Xbox one, primarily because my pc at the time wasn’t up to par for Elite Dangerous needs to be appreciated.
Finally I upgraded my battle station to a Razer Blade 15 with the upgrades RTX 3070 & 10th Gen I7 32Gb ram so I can get a quality experience to fully appreciate the game.
Now that I’m ready to get going on PC it seems like a nice time with Odyssey Deluxe edition being available to get an early taste but knowing it’s coming.
The one thing I can find info on and maybe I missed a stupidly obvious answer somewhere, but either way do I need to buy the ED core game if I get the ED: Odyssey deluxe edition?

I knew I would have to pay for it when I switched to pc, but not sure if I need to buy both or just the new deluxe edition available and would like to avoid buying something unnecessary. Also, if both are required I could wait a bit to get past the initial steps in game and buy the odyssey content once I have hit a point where my progress and ship are even at a point to get the real odyssey experience. I honestly don’t know how early in the game you can start getting into odyssey’s boots on the ground combat scenarios.

any help is appreciated, I know it’s probably a case where most won’t really know because they already owned ED awhile before Odyssey was even a consideration, but here’s hoping.
Thanks
Reaper

Much appreciated for the quick reply. Now the big question I need to look into is if I should get odyssey right away for any preorder content since it’s not a preorder tomorrow. But exciting time for the game.

So, I started playing ED on Xbox one, primarily because my pc at the time wasn’t up to par for Elite Dangerous needs to be appreciated.
Finally I upgraded my battle station to a Razer Blade 15 with the upgrades RTX 3070 & 10th Gen I7 32Gb ram so I can get a quality experience to fully appreciate the game.