News Meet the Team #8- Martin Houlden (Concept Artist)

Status
Thread Closed: Not open for further replies.
Meet the Team #8- Martin Houlden (Concept Artist)

r9lu6a.jpg

Welcome to the 8th edition of our Meet the Team interviews. This week we’ll be interviewing another one of our talented concept artists, Martin Houlden. Martin is one of the people responsible for visualising every detail of the updated Elite universe we are hoping to bring you, so that it is not only true to the series’ legacy, but is also unique from other science fiction. We start as usual by asking Martin to introduce himself:
My name is Martin Houlden and I'm a concept artist on Elite Dangerous! I've worked at Frontier for 4 years, starting out on Kinectimals before moving onto The Outsider and Kinect Disneyland Adventures, and now on Elite. Due to the nature of my discipline I’ve also been involved in a lot of early development work for pitches and ideas.

How did you get into concept art and what advice would you have to anyone else planning to get into it?
I started out, as a lot of artists do at a young age simply by loving playing video games and drawing for fun and my own amusement, and that never really went away. I was very lucky in having encouraging family and friends and a teacher at GCSE level that was happy to let me do exactly what I wanted for my projects. I went on to study Computer Games Art at university which also incorporated a placement year that I took at Blitz Games, where I learnt in 3 months more about the industry than I did in all the other years of formal education. I then went back to university to finish my BA, and after that came to Frontier!