Now i understand Why People Keep using the word "grind"

These are the donation missions. You donate money, and get an amount of Reputation. They are quick and easy, no travel, no nothing, just sitting there and open your wallet. It makes it "easier" but not "easy", quite expensive in the long run, especially in the higher ranks, you barely notice any increase in your Rep, with just one Donation.

Rank before Rear Admiral ('vette rank, for those who dont know) its roughly 3 donation missions for 1%.

I've been playing for over 2 years and just last week finally got my Corvette, but then I don't do grind - when the fun stops, stop!

I also know a few people that 'have had to' grind for the big ships, then get the ship they wanted but have burnt themselves out and stop playing.

Rank before Rear Admiral ('vette rank, for those who dont know) its roughly 3 donation missions for 1%.

Does the donated amount affect how much % you get?
If it's roughly 300 donations by 25k Cr, then it's cool, but if it's 300 donations by 500k+, I might have to request Millerport for permanent residence.

There are plenty of ways to get to where you want to in Elite. Grinding is one way, but is not the only way.

Also, don't think of getting to one of the big ships as the endgame. There is no end game, you can have just as much fun in a Cobra as you can in a Corvette.

So you think it's a grind at Petty Officer - you ain't seen nothing yet :)

My advise is make sure you enjoy the journey 'cus it could be a long one.

Last edited:
How did you Not grind, in a game with Full of repetitive handful grind quests, Voice in me head?

:) LOL and it gets better - the whole long, hard, exhausting grind will (eventually) reward you with the dream ship, with which....you can continue doing the very same grind [yesnod] :x [noob]

Road itself is the important thing, not the destination ;)

I was replying to the guy I quoted.