Newcomer / Intro Point me in the right direction - and shove

I'm relatively new to Elite Dangerous. Really enjoying it, even Odyssey. I'm mainly into exploration and problem solving, rather that killing everything in sight. I think I have mastered a lot of things and I have a bucket list of other things that I need to research. One of those is when I see tutorials and think "How the hell did people figure out how to do that". I've done the ancient ruins mission that starts at FELICE DOCK in the MEENE system and a couple of others. If I had not seen the YouTube videos and websites giving step by step instructions, I would never have been able to even start the quest. So where did people figure out where to go and what to do? Is the answer buried in the Codex or the Galnet? Or does the whole thing rely on a community talking to each other to figure it out. I would much prefer to try and figure out the trials myself rather than just follow a script, but I need a little help to get started.

One of the things I have only just heard about is the lore of the Hesperus Event. From which I can gather is on a second of a six phase story. Am I too late to join in this? I'm on my way to the Perseus Dark Region KC-V c2-2 system in the hope that I will get a belated message from Salvation.

Perhaps I am just too old fashioned to know the places to go and people to talk to. I do find the documentation a little lack lustre. I am a software manager and this sort of thing makes me cringe. And don't get me started on shipping a product to customers before the software has been properly tested!!!

I have learn about third party tools such as EDSM, EDDB and Inara. I just feel that I am missing something? I have never been great at social media and rarely do forums (except when I get stuck). And yes, Discords are on my research bucket list.

So please, point me in the right direction and give be a hefty shove.