Newcomer / Intro Question about kill pirate quest.

So, to start off, I just started playing the game today, so I am completely clueless.

I got my first kill quest, and it was to kill 6 pirates.

So, the first star I go to, I find an unidentified signal right away, and when i go in, there's a dude that is telling me to abandon the quest - So I killed him, but it turns out he doesn't count for whatever reason. No problem, I found another unidentified signal, and killed one pirate.

That was about an hour ago, I am low on fuel and have less than an hour left to kill 5 more pirates that I apparently cannot find. So, I will need to abandon the quest. Here are my questions:

1. The guy who asked me to drop the quest is kind of dead now. After abandoning the quest, can I still go to where he asked me to meet him and collect the reward?
  2. Will this make me hostile to federal?

Last edited:
I'm new too, but have done this mission...

So, to start off, I just started playing the game today, so I am completely clueless.

I got my first kill quest, and it was to kill 6 pirates.

So, the first star I go to, I find an unidentified signal right away, and when i go in, there's a dude that is telling me to abandon the quest - So I killed him, but it turns out he doesn't count for whatever reason. No problem, I found another unidentified signal, and killed one pirate.

That was about an hour ago, I am low on fuel and have less than an hour left to kill 5 more pirates that I apparently cannot find. So, I will need to abandon the quest. Here are my questions:

1. The guy who asked me to drop the quest is kind of dead now. After abandoning the quest, can I still go to where he asked me to meet him and collect the reward?
  2. Will this make me hostile to federal?