Newcomer / Intro Super Cruise Assist - Never knew it did this!

So i've been playing Elite for nearly 2 months now and steam says 300 hours play time.
I've always flown with that supercruise assist module and I always thought it made the distance bars appear on the left when flying to a station and thought it auto dropped you out of supercruise if you got too near a planet or ring. I decided to take it off one of my ships and found out everything was the same. I've just now looked at the april update information which says the below.
I've always wished I had an extra module slot on some of my ships but thought supercruise was an essential module so left it on everything and now realize i've never even used it lol.

Will give it a whirl if I can find the right xbox controller key combination but will be taking it off most of my ships (will leave it on my explorer ship I think).
Wonder what I'll discover after another 300 hours lol.
Planetary approach suite is an essential module isn't it? or can that be dumped?

"Available at your nearest starship department store (i.e. Outfitting) comes the new Supercruise Assist module. While in Supercruise, you're now able to target a destination and activate Supercruise Assist, putting your safety in the reassuring hands of a machine. In this mode, your ship automatically maintains the correct speed and approach to your target destination, and breaks out of Supercruise at the optimum time. You'll still have to align with the correct location, but you will no longer have to worry about doing a loop of shame!

With the the Supercruise Assist, you'rel also able to enter into orbit around a body - allowing you to launch discovery probes and take screenshots without the fear of face-planting the dusty, rocky ground
."

So i've been playing Elite for nearly 2 months now and steam says 300 hours play time.