The CobraMkIV: Available Someday?

Greetings commanders. Thanks for clicking my post, hopefully Fdev may happen across this post and hear my cries and the cries of many others who were late to the party.

Introduction:
I started playing Elite last year around the start of 2017 and have heard of the CobraMkIV.
I am an avid lover of the CobraMkIII, who doesn't love that ship. The CobraMkIV must be great right? Maybe not? Well good or bad, I may never know,
and many like myself may also never know. This is due to it only being available to those who purchased Horizons prior to February 5th, 2016.

The Main Point Here:
So Fdev has stated that they will never be releasign the CobraMkIV to other players because it was a reward to those who preordered Horizons. I can understand that, that's a nice gesture to those folks who showed support.
But it's been Two years since Horizons came out now, many people such as myself simpyl weren't around to take advantage of that opportunity.
I understand Fdev wants this to stay a reward item, but I wanted to make a suggestion:

Why not hold a Community Vote for those who preordered Horizons and ask if they would be alright with the CobraMkIV becoming available to the Public?

I don't want to complain, I don't want to harass, I want to see if those who this reward wwas meant for would be okay with sharing it with others.

And if not simple available to the public, then perhaps give those who own the CobraMkIV to share access with friends.
Perhaps make it so you must complete a certain task to obtain it and prove your dedication.
Make it available only at one location, maybe some station in Colonia?
Or... maybe even the less appealing idea of paying real money for it on the Frontier Store.

Somehow, someway, it would be good to see the CobraMkIV reach the public.

Let those who were rewarded it decide if it should be shared or kept exclusive.
Thats all I ask, and I hope you agree.