UNable to set lateral thrust/alternate control on Xbox controller

Hey all

I'm fairly new to the game and BOY HOWDY is there a lot to take in.

I'm trying to set up my alternate control scheme with lateral thrust (left and right) so that I can use it when docking. On my normal setup, I have the left stick for up/down thrust and left-right yaw. On the right stick I have pitch up/down and roll left/right.

I have gone into controls and in the alternative scheme have the right stick exactly the same, and the left stick I have replaced left/right yaw with left/right lateral horizontal thrust, so that I can finesse the landings.

However, when I go back into the game, and swap to my alternate control scheme, the left stick still gives me left/right yaw. No matter what I do, I cannot get horizontal left/right thrust.

Can anyone help me with what I am doing wrong? I am loving the game, but landing on outer landing pads is a right pain with only pitch, thrust and yaw.

Last edited:
Normally you use the left stick click to swap the function of the right stick...

Right Stick: Thrust up/down and Yaw

Click left stick and the right stick changes to;

Right Stick: Thrust up/down and Left/Right lateral thrust

as you have swapped the left and right sticks you need to make sure when you click <something> the left stick changes, like the right stick does in the normal setup.

Yes, that's what I am trying to do - switch from the standard controls to the alternate controls when landing, but when I switch to alternate controls, the left stick still has yaw and not lateral thrust, as it does in the standard control scheme - even though in the settings, it shows lateral thrust being set for that stick in the alternative mode. I get the onscreen notification that alt controls are active, but it refuses to change the action from yaw to thrust. It's quite frustrating.

EDIT I replied a little later after trying this, see below)

Last edited: