VR - First Person On Foot VR Works in Odyssey

And here is some quick proof-

Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HRE9SzKqK6s

New Addition
This is me using the Oculus Motion Controllers for guns & aiming.

I should specify that this is the motion function that you wave around, not the joysticks on them.

]Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxzyXsqVzYA&t=5s[/MEDIA]

jump to the original forum post-

This is like 90% done. Just throw some kind of HUD on this and we're there.
@Zac Cocken

Credit to this poster on the Steam Forums for the method to do this easily-
(Basically just plink your free camera & camera suite buttons)

I automated this process in Voice Attack as described in this post: https://forums.frontier.co.uk/threa...-foot-vr-works-in-odyssey.582713/post-9320619

A few things to note- this is my first time doing this and I'm just testing the waters. The rocks I hit in the video I was aiming at, so that was fine and felt natural.
Used a mouse and keyboard no problem.
Did not throw up when I hit the jump boost (apparently a lot of forum goers think that plays the brown note or something)

So... I dunno guys. This is pretty close to job done. Why is Elite wasting player goodwill and eating backlash instead of just doing a quick polish on this with some "more to come soon!" to keep up the goodwill?

@StuartGT @VR Golgot @here_it_comes @CMDR Quarter-Master @Obsidian Ant @VR SenseiMatty
Also made a Reddit thread-
https://www.reddit.com/r/EliteDangerous/comments/o26l3n Source: https://www.reddit.com/r/EliteDangerous/comments/o26l3n/on_foot_vr_in_elite_dangerous_odyssey/

Last edited:
IMHO they don't enable or announce VR for Odyssey because of two reasons:
  • Performance - they can't reach stable fps or frametimes atm
  • HUD for legs seems to be rendered in the menu layer (the gamma pre update 3 did only affect the menu and the legs HUD)