Live Forum Q&A - Audio!

Matthew Florianz

Senior Audio Designer- Elite: Dangerous
Frontier
Hello everyone! Thanks for taking the time and spending it with us for a few hours, it's much appreciated as are your kind words.
Likewise, you guys blow our minds with your creations! Now to answer questions : )

Jashby

Frontier
Frontier
Hey guys!

Nice to meet you! First of all, it's a pleasure to have you here, in our community. I'm a sound engineer so I'm very intrigued about your audio work. I have a big and very interesting triple question! I hope you like it.

How do you recorded the sounds? (equipment, microphones...). Do you spent some time on different theme parks searching the rides to capture their sounds effects? How are you synchronized with the rides in game?

Let me tell you that you've done an incredible work with audio set. There is a lot of different sound effects in the park and one of my favourite detail is the specific sound that you can hear when you put some scenary element in the park (that's incredible and lovely).

I'll leave Matt to answer the first two parts of your question but I can talk about some of the syncronization. We have a tool called MotionGraph which lets us audition animations and place audio in certain frames of the animation, as well as control some audio parameters (such as rider excitement). We then connect it up to the game and it all magically works [yesnod] so you can audition certain parts of an animation over and over. We then bake them out into a format which is read in at runtime and send data to our middleware (wwise).

Jashby

Frontier
Frontier
Ooooo, I like this question, an OST would be cool!

Soundtrack would be great! I'd love to be able to listen to some of the tracks (I'm a big fan of the magic twirl one) at home just doing nothing. It's something we did on Elite because a lot of the community wanted it, so your requests certainly help.