Patch Notes Update April Update - Patch Notes

Disclaimer: I’ve been playing the game only since January, so I am fairly new at all this. Also apologies for the lengthy post, but I needed this to get off my chest.

After reading pretty much all the posts in this thread I can’t help but feel a certain hypocrisy shining through. Let me explain:

1. The total number of players is not equal to “the community”. A community is a group of people that love a topic (in this case “the game”) so much that they are willing to share their experiences, give and receive advice, initiate activities for smaller and larger groups and communicate well. If a game can inspire all this I believe it is a good game. A game can also try to support such initiatives and exchange, but even an online multiplayer game has certain technical limits. The logical consequence is to use resources which are better suited for such purposes. The forum, discord, Youtube and websites like EDSM, Inara, to just name a few are better suited for this. In-game chat can only go so far. That is why community project like Distant Worlds 2 have been planned almost completely outside of the game. Getting involved in such community activities is something that requires initiative, which is not a bad thing, to find out “where the music plays”. But the community is typically much smaller than the total number of players.