About to set off for Maia

Newbie here...I'm ready to go to Maia and grab some meta-allows for Felicity and on the way (sort of) will drop by Wolf 387 to give up my 100k in bounties to Tod. Anything I should do before heading out all that way? It's a long trip and hope not to hear "you should have brought 'x' along to make profits" or something like that...

Got a diamondback explorer kitted out with SRV, explo rig of course. 8M in the bank.

If that's not already the plan, don't buy your Meta Alloy, but get it from a Barnacle site. It's more exciting and profitable. You could also check out one of the Thargoid bases where you can find even more Meta Alloy and an even more exciting surrounding. You'll need an SRV though.
On both sites there are spikes with targettable "thingies" on top. The big ones are Meta Alloys even it doesn't say it until you collect it. Some Barnacle sites don't have any, so don't wonder if you are unlucky.

Fly safe. o7

Barnacles are awesome and Thargoid sites are creepy.
With some MAs in your hold you should get some pirates and a Thargoid Hyperdiction.

Don't get too ambitious.

Just get the meta-alloy and get it back to Auntie Felicity.

Once you've done that, you can engineer your FSD and then trips to places like Maia stop being a hassle.

There are a couple of interesting places near Maia (Dav's Hope and the Jameson crash site) but, really, just get the MA to Farseer and then go visit them.
With an upgraded FSD, it's only 4 or 5 jumps. (y)

You also need to travel 5k ly from your original starting starting system for another engineer. As someone else has said, get yourself a dbx kitted out for jump range if you haven't already got one. It's a ship that I still regularly use now, so it's a good investment I did my 5k using the neutron highway but it did cost me a couple of rebuys practicing scooping at Jackson's Lighthouse in a sidewinder.