Does anyone actually enjoy engineering?

I started playing after the random engineering had gone the way of the dinosaur and had seen the 'old' way on youtube so was surprised when I saw nothing of the like on my first engineering trip.

It actually looked like fun, in that the 'best' roll might not be all roses...

What we have now is ok and consistent (bar RNG after 3 rolls) but bland :)
The problem with engineering now is- whats the point? Everyone is going to max out so there is nothing special about it, its simply replaced A grade kit with a AA rating. Old engineers gave inconsistent results but made modules unique that few others would have.

It always felt to me like the lack of blandness was functionally superficial. A few percentage points here and there but not a change to how the ship fundamentally works or what the mods were that people chose to fit. The kind of thing you'd know from a factual perspective but never feel compared to the next person doing the same thing.

And you might say, "but what if you aren't doing the same thing?" In that case you never needed engineering to make things distinct, fitting worked just fine and current engineering offers plenty of further distinct options even if everyone can hit the peaks.

My other suggestion would be to strip out the gambling part and just have the engineers give flat, experimental style boosts to modules. Nothing gets overpowered, and you have simple tweaks.

The current engineering system has capped results. The power peaks can be tweaked at any time but won't be due to fears of invalidating time invested (an issue they created through designing the system to sink as much time as they could get away with) and complaints about nerfing the effectiveness of player ships now that we've become accustom to the results of power creep.

Last edited: