Game Discussions Game with most tedious grind....

Elite is nowhere near as grindy, after they switched engineer mods from having random stats ---> to linear upgrades with hard caps.

Which leads me to Diablo 3 and games like it — where the only reason to keep playing after the campaign, is to grind for the same gear you already have, because the gear might have a different random combination of stats and abilities.

No, definitely not blaming the player, I am blaming the ease with which credits can be had nowadays.
For me personally a lot of the fun is in having to work for something. Even just buying the Viper really meant something to me in the early days, earning enough to buy a Python and upgrading its modules was a huge undertaking. When I bought the Anaconda after 16 months or so I could not even afford to upgrade it and first had to park it and earn more credits in my Python. I loved that.

But nowadays people can post comments saying "I am new to this game, and my Anaconda..." Being new and already having the credits for an Anaconda should not be possible.
I think this is bad for the game as such. There have to be long term goals. There need to be things at the horizon you want to earn the credits for.
For some the carrier might become such a thing.... which is good for them.
Sadly for me, being a soloist, I do not see the point of the carrier at all.
Totally agree mate

Elite is nowhere near as grindy, after they switched engineer mods from having random stats ---> to linear upgrades with hard caps.

Which leads me to Diablo 3 and games like it — where the only reason to keep playing after the campaign, is to grind for the same gear you already have, because the gear might have a different random combination of stats and abilities.
"Only" took like 2 years to do that. Really, who sticks that long to a game with a terrible progression like the initial 2.1?