A suggestion in response to Kai Zen's open letter to Frontier

We all know that Frontier is trying to achieve some polish with fleet carriers, and as a developer myself I understand the level of commitment needed. However, universe immersion is incredibly important if we want to keep Elite Dangerous alive. Frontier staff don't have the resources at the moment to write Galnet articles, so...

What if the community wrote them?

Yeah, that sounds a bit outlandish at first, but bear with me.

We all have a rough timeline, and a general idea of game lore, from the community wiki and from historical Galnet. With that in mind, it might be quite rewarding to flesh out some stories, that have minimal impact on gameplay, as a collective. We could even set out a few guidelines for what can be easily changed and what cannot - for example, we could write an article about a worker's strike leading to a shortage of HN Shock Mounts. This is easily modifiable, I presume, and requires very little time to implement.

As part of this suggestion, I also suggest we create a template for story submissions. Each submission would go "live" on the forums, and be voted on by the community, and the top, say, five articles per week would be given a cursory glance over by a Frontier member of staff (to ensure nothing obtuse, we know what the internet is like here) before being actioned. The latter part of the process should take no more than ten minutes or so - a good way to start a morning with a decent cuppa, I should think.

Another impetus for this approach is PMF involvement - larger PMFs with greater influence could use this platform to make statements about their actions in the black, making the immersion factor far beyond what we had before. Hell, this could be the impetus for huge battles down the line, the kinds of battles that sees CCP make headlines with Eve.

So, to Frontier, I offer the following: